NOUGHTS & CROSSES

1ST IDEAS & 1ST SKETCHES

I had a couple of first ideas based on some selected quotes from the book that had particularly interested me and showed different sides of the book, different sides I could use as a theme for the front cover.

 

 

 

RESEARCH & INSPIRATION

 

Once I had an idea I liked and wanted to work with, I needed to do a little research, find some inspiration. My idea was to show this situation of reverse racism that was taking place in the book. I wanted to convey this by showing famous moments in history where black people suffered injustice by the hand of white people and turn that around. Therefore I started looking into recent events such as Black Lives Matter but didn’t find anything that triggered my interest. I wanted something more historical. And what could fit better then photos of the first time a black student went to an all white school?

 

BLACK LIVES MATTER //

 

 

 

BLACK INTEGRATION IN ALL WHITE HIGH SCHOOLS

 

 

elizabeth-eckford.jpg

 

nervous-girl-first-day.jpg

 

 

Leave a comment